Hollywood’s Originality Problem

Just a few hours before I sat down to write this, I was sitting down for another very good reason: I was watching the just-released Martin McDonagh film Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri. A slew of technical difficulties threatened to ruin the experience for me and my fellow film-goers, from the screen going blank, to the lights coming up in the middle of the movie, to the curtains partially closing and covering the farthest right and left parts of the screen. However, I left the theater without collecting the eight dollar refund I was offered for the failings of the theater’s equipment. Despite all that had gone wrong, I still felt that I had received more than my money’s worth. And this was primarily for the reason that the film felt entirely new. The premise takes a missing person’s case as the setting event, and then spends almost no time attempting to solve the mystery, very little time dealing with the survivors’ healing, and no answers to the thematic questions it raises. As I pondered these unique offerings, I was struck with this though: why doesn’t Hollywood make movies as original as this one?

    Playing at the theater where I saw Three Billboards… is a total of 14 movies. Of these 14, five are sequels, six are based on books, and three are adaptations of true stories. Only four of the movies were original stories: Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Coco, Lady Bird,and Roman J Israel, Esq. You’ll notice that adds up to more than 14 altogether, but there is some overlap. I was surprised at these findings, not because there are so few original stories, but because there were more than I expected. 29% of the films showing in that theater today are films that are going to introduce us to stories and characters that you can’t find by googling them. (Well, unless you’re googling the film in question.) Simply put, Hollywood is obsessed with the familiar.

    Why is that? The answer to this is simple: familiarity sells and Hollywood wants to make money. But why is familiarity a selling point, and is this a good thing? Should I, as a Christian, be in favor of the familiar or against it?

    The familiar is a comforting thing. The familiar makes sense to us, it soothes us, it gives us peace of mind and makes us feel like we have some sort of control, or at least understanding, of our surroundings. Victims of trauma can sometimes have even more adverse effects if the trauma occurred in a place which was familiar to them. Case in point: my mother passed away very suddenly in my home a few years back. My dad and my sister were both in the house at the time, but I was not. A few months later, they both moved out, but I wasn’t ready to move on from the house and continued to live there awhile longer. We were all deeply affected by the horror of losing a family member, but since I was not in the home when the traumatizing event took place, I ran to the recognizable location for comfort, while my father now experienced the feeling that the familiar was no longer familiar to him, and thus it was time to find a new familiar.

    That which is recognizable is comforting, and that can be a good thing. However, a search for the familiar can be a vain endeavor and a dangerous trap. If you only eat at places you know, you might find yourself at large chain restaurants, supporting giant corporations, while the family-owned diner down the street is left to go out of business, and then its owners have to look for a new livelihood. The person who jumps into a lake or an ocean to save a child from drowning is doubtless going outside their comfort zone, but without their willingness to do so, a youth would be left to perish.

On a spiritual level, comfort is a thing which Christians often seek that is never commanded in the Bible. Matthew 25: 14-30 tells the story of three men who are entrusted with money by their master. The two who take a risk and invest it are rewarded upon their master’s return, while the third servant, who buried his portion of money so it would be safe until his master got back is reprimanded harshly, and is then cast “into the outer darkness”. This is one parable about which the disciples do not have to inquire for its meaning. The message is clear: risk reaps reward, while doing whatever is easiest reaps nothing.

Christian films typically follow the same, very basic formula: protagonist is not nice to people and things don’t go their way, then they become a Christian and suddenly they are nice to everyone and everything goes their way. Not only is this a very cliche story, but it’s poorly-done cliche, as the conversion scene usually happens halfway through the movie, meaning we have to sit through almost an hour of things going well for our heroes. There’s no conflict. No tension. And then there’s no resolution, because there was no real conflict to resolve. Imagine if Christian films aimed to teach Hollywood how to make good, original films? But instead we choose to make films that are mocked, and deservedly so.

I hope that at some point, Hollywood begins to release more original films and fewer adaptations, sequels, and remakes. But I know that Hollywood will not change. Not really. They will always care most about what puts the most money in their pockets. It is up to us, the viewer, to show them that we will put more money into originality than the familiar. Just this year, America told Hollywood that she would not support projects which were giving work to sexual offenders, and since then, many of those projects have been pulled from release schedules or removed from online streaming, and at least one director has even gone so far as to reshoot portions of his film late in its production simply to replace one actor who had been accused of sexual misconduct with another deemed more respectable.

But these changes would not have happened if there wasn’t such a public outcry for them. Now, I am not seeking to compare inappropriate sexual behavior to a lack of originality in Hollywood, as those two things are clearly on a different spectrum. However, it’s important to remember that we, as the audience, hold the power of deciding which films make money and which are financial flops. Let’s make wise decisions, shall we?

3 thoughts on “Hollywood’s Originality Problem

  1. I have to say, after reading your article I am somewhat confused.
    In the blogs about you page it states,
    “We would like to challenge you to give thought to every belief, action, and decision you make – not for your sake, but for the glory of the Almighty who has given you the ability to reason! “.
    Its at this point though where my confusion begins.

    You wrote an article that I believe is not glorifying to God at all. Nor does it challenge anybody in a way that is glorifying to God. I don’t see how having some kind of outcry on the basis of Hollywood making more original movies is glorifying to God. I don’t see how that kind of thinking/decision helps advance the kingdom of God at all.

    But, my concern is more with the lack of caution while dealing with the interpretation of the text of the Bible.

    Mathew 25:14,30. The meaning of this parable, is not risk reaps reward. That is a misinterpretation of the text at hand and a denial of its context. If we were to ask some basic questions about the passage, and read the full chapter in Mathew and cross reference the parallel passage in Luke, the context would be clear.

    I would first suggest, if our goal is to do things that are glorifying to God, we should start with treating his living word with care. We need to take the time to properly exegete the text that supports our claims, rather then through out a subjective interpretation, that supports our agenda.

    In the text Mathew 25: 14.30 “risk reaps reward” is not the proper interpretation. Although, I agree we sometimes need to take risks. That’s not what’s being taught. And an out cry that Hollywood should make more original movies has nothing to do with Gods will or this passage.

    This is a clear parable about the kingdom of heaven. Christ states that himself in the beginning of the chapter. Chapter 25 is a continuation of Chapter 24.

    It’s about the kingdom of God. God being the master, and us Christians as his servants. The talents represents gifts that belong to God to advance His kingdom. Our commission is to preach the gospel using the gifts that belong to God to bring about the means that saves souls.

    Lets keep in mind the purpose of the gospel is not about you and me. We are not at the center of this book. And the gospel has nothing to do with original movies or sequels that Hollywood makes.This is a book where the GODhead is center and it’s about his glory through his work of creation and salvation. Now that’s not to say we shouldn’t use the bible to structure our living. Of course we should. The words in the Bible should be along side every decision we make. We should take the moral equity of every law and teaching and apply it to our life.

    “All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness,”
    2 Timothy 3:16 ESV

    All I’m saying is the passage we use to support our subjective thoughts should be related.

    Like

    1. Hi Paul,

      I appreciate you taking the time to respond the the article. Our purpose is to promote thinking and discussion, so we are glad to see that our articles are causing our readers to do that. You bring up some interesting points, which I am happy to address.

      I would draw your attention to the part of our mission statement which states that we want to challenge “every belief, action, and decision”. This encompasses not only the obvious spiritual challenges, but literally every aspect of your life. I am of the belief that the best way to honor our great Lord and Savior is to follow his calling in all we do, and if the Lord has called a person to make films, then I believe it is that person’s responsibility to make the best films they can possibly make. There is no part of any person’s life in which God is not invested in some way.

      In regard to the Bible passage referenced, certainly I did not flesh out all the depth of the passage, as this article is not about the passage itself. I focused on the parts which relate most closely to what I am trying to write about. I certainly do not want to take parts of scripture out of context to support my predisposed belief. The beliefs I have developed through my relationship with God and through reading scripture–including the passage I reference–are what led me to the opinion I shared as the premise for the blog post.

      In regards to the claim that “the gospel has nothing to do with original movies or sequels that Hollywood makes”, I would agree that on base level, that is correct. However, by that same reasoning, the Bible has nothing to do with driving a car, but does that mean we should address how God would want us to act when we are behind the wheel? I believe that is not the case.

      A wise man I know often said “The Bible was not written to you. But it was written for you.” I agree that we are not at the center of the message of the Gospel. Christ is. But I would remind you what Christ’s first recorded miracle is: turning water into wine at a wedding. And, according to the master of ceremonies, it is the best wine of the evening.

      If the Son of God chose to use his power to make the best wine out of H2O, and if we believe that the Son of God can do no wrong (I am glad to get into the scriptures behind that belief, but I assume that will be unnecessary to do with you), then we must therefore believe that Him making the best wine was a good thing.

      Should we not also seek to make the best films?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The article may not be about the text, however the text was used to support the premise of the article. And my main point is that particular text has no relevance to your article. We don’t have to share all the details about the passage to site a passage to support a claim, however the interpretation should be accurate according to its context.

        I completely agree that we ought to perform the activities in our life to the best of our ability. I believe God decreed all things, so I agree God is active in our lives . But that kind of misses the point.

        An example would be I can help an old man across the street, but if I’m doing that for my own self gain, that would be wrong, at least in the sight of God. So I can do something good and it still not be righteous because of my reasoning.

        We should be encouraging people to produce the best work that they are able, but doing so from a Christian perspective. That concept is built upon a biblical foundation.

        Hollywood is a Godless Organization. What is The point for Hollywood to make more original movies or movies to the best of there ability if the content of the movies they are producing are morally depraved and not glorifying God. We are speaking of Hollywood right?
        Where the majority of there movies take the Lord’s name in vain, are sexually perverse, glorify murder, stealing, coveting, lying, and of course the full support of idolatry.
        An out cry to Hollywood to make more original movies without first addressing the real issue, in my opinion that would be a disgrace to God, not honoring him.

        On your second point.

        I believe this illustrates my point.

        Making original movies or sequels would be considered a different category than driving a car. One has to deal with a matter of opinion with no moral implications attached such as the subject (original movies). Where driving a car does have moral responsibility and the submission to governing authorities that God put in place. So my reasoning would actually leave me with some kind of foundation, a biblical worldview for example. I think it’s great you like original movies. As do I. But when it comes to the biblical text, my point is what i stated above.

        If the out cry was based upon Hollywood changing there filth I would agree, and I would actually support the premise. But just an out cry for more original movies doesn’t really have a biblical foundation.
        And with the ungodliness of Hollywood I think we would have a hard time to honestly support that claim biblically.

        Your last point could be answered with the things I have already stated.

        Happy to see the willingness of dialogue between different perspectives.

        Happy new year.

        Like

Leave a comment